My Harry Potter Weekend

Hey guys. I spent the last weekend in London with my dad for a Harry Potter weekend. On Saturday we went to see Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, and on Sunday we went to the Warner Bros Studio Tour. I’m going to do an overview of what was in the studio tour so if you don’t want to know, don’t read the Sunday bit.


Saturday the 20th of May

After we checked into our hotel in London we immediately went looking for the Palace Theatre so we would know where to go when Part 1 started. We were walking up Shaftesbury Ave and I was just about to ask dad how much further when we spotted the theatre. It’s super pretty from the outside with the sign.

The play itself was absolutely amazing. The actors did such a good job and I feel like one of the few people who actually enjoyed the plot. My friend saw it before me and she told me not to read the book before seeing the play. I would 100% agree with that. It was so much better to see it not knowing what to expect.

Our seats were literally in the back row, we were so high up, but the rows were tiered steeply enough that we could still see everything over the heads of the people in front of us. I enjoyed it so much and I’m hoping that I’ll be able to go again with my boyfriend before it ends.

Sunday the 21st of May

On Sunday we went to the Warner Brothers Studio Tour. I’ve been wanting to go for ages and it seemed like an awesome idea to go on the same weekend as seeing Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. It was really fun to have a Harry Potter themed weekend. The first thing we saw when we went into the lobby was loads of pictures of the characters from Harry Potter. We had to queue up to get into the exhibition, and while we were waiting in the line, we could look into the cupboard under the stairs.

When we were allowed in we were shown into a theatre to watch a short clip of the Golden Trio talking a bit about the exhibition, and then we got to go through the doors into the Great Hall. They had loads of the characters costumes in there. From there we went into the first room which had a load of props and a few sets. My favourite set was the Burrow.

After that was the Forbidden Forest, which was new this year. It had some animals that can be found in the forest, including the acromantula. We then walked into the next room to find the Hogwarts Express. It was so pretty and amazing. One of the carriages was open for people to go inside, and some of the compartments had props from different movies in them. At the end of the train, they had set up a scene from the first movie.

After walking through the café, we came to an outside area which had Number 4 Privet Drive, which you could actually go inside although it only had one room set up, the living room, and the Potters Cottage from Godricks Hollow, as well as the flying car, Hagrids motorbike, and the Knight Bus.

We then went into the next building which had magical creatures of various sorts, Diagon Alley, which was super pretty, and all the models of sets they made.

The final area of the exhibition was the most amazing thing in the whole place. It literally took my breath away when I walked round the corner and saw it. I posted a picture of it on my Instagram so if you want to see what it was, click here. I definitely thought it was better to not know what it was and having the surprise.

So that was my Harry Potter weekend. Let me know if you have been to either of these and what you thought of them.

Leave a Reply

