Mini Reviews: A Proper Young Lady; Soundless; A Carpet of Purple Flowers

Hey guys. Today I have some mini reviews that probably should have gone up ages ago… Whoops.



9780985148225

A Proper Young Lady by Lianne Simon
Genre: New Adult
Published by: Faie Miss Press
Pages: 227
Format: Paperback
Rating: ★★★★☆
Where to Find: Goodreads | Book Depository
Summary: A woman with the complete form of Androgen Insensitivity Syndrome might never discover that she has testes in her abdomen rather than ovaries and uterus. Danièle knows, and she grieves that she can never have her own children. She has a partial form of AIS that left her with ambiguous genitals, a steady stream of doctors and psychologists, and parents determined to see her happy as a girl.

After Danièle’s best friend and childhood crush agrees to have a baby for her, Danièle learns that the clinic can extract sperm from her own gonadal biopsies, and she becomes the father of Melanie’s baby herself.

Ethan adores the graceful young woman named Danièle, while Melanie imagines a life with the father of her child. Danièle? She’s happy with her intersex body—somewhere between princess and little boy. But in a black and white world, she must choose—once and for all—who she will be. And whom she will love.

*

Overall I enjoyed this book, however I did have some problems with it. First of all, I didn’t really like Melanie. She just said and did a lot of annoying things all the way through the whole book. She kept calling Danièle “the girl” as if she didn’t know Danièle’s name, which for some reason really annoyed me. Also, the way it was written was sometimes confusing. I feel like the author tried a bit to hard at the whole “show don’t tell” thing so that sometimes I wasn’t actually sure about what was going on. The story line jumped around a bit too. One minute the characters would be at home, and the next it was three days later and they were at the doctors, so I ended up having no idea what had just happened.

Overall however, I found the writing really engaging and I really enjoyed the plot.


Soundless by Richelle Mead
Genre: Fantasy
Published by: Penguin
Pages: 267
Format: Paperback
Rating: ★★★★☆
Where to Find: Goodreads | Book Depository
Summary: For as long as Fei can remember, there has been no sound in her village. Her people are at the mercy of a mysterious faraway kingdom, which delivers food in return for precious metals mined from the treacherous cliffs surrounding them.

When villagers begin to lose their sight, their rations shrink and many go hungry. Fei’s home, the boy she loves, and her entire existence is plunged into crisis, under threat of darkness and starvation.

Then Fei is awoken in the night by a searing noise, and sound becomes her weapon . . .

*

I picked this book up mostly because it is by Richelle Mead, but also because I really liked the premise. I thought it sounded super interesting. I ended up really enjoying it. I loved the writing. I thought it really matched the mythology feel of the book. I really liked that it included deaf people and sign language. That’s not something I have ever seen in YA fiction before and I found it really interesting. I would definitely recommend you pick this up if you liked Richelle Meads other books.


A Carpet of Purple Flowers by Tracey-anne McCartney
Genre: New Adult
Published by: Urbane Publications
Pages: 360
Format: Paperback
Rating: DNF
Where to Find: Goodreads | Book Depository
Summary: Bea lives a simple life residing in a SW London second-hand bookshop. It’d been an especially difficult year, first with Bea’s uncle dying, then splitting up with Brandon, her philandering, druggie boyfriend. The shops trivial daily conversations, local faces and ordinary calm was all she desired but that was all about to change. No-one expects to bump into supernatural beings, let alone two opposing sects of a forgotten race. Bea’s quiet existence turns into turmoil as she slowly starts to unravel a secret past, a lost history in which love, revenge, betrayal, magic, power and karma are not mere cycles of a soul, but a sacred journey upon a web of many possibilities. The future is not set in stone, and the choices that Bea makes ripple through the cosmos. As the secret unfolds she realises that no matter what form your soul takes there are consequences for your actions in which time has no relevance we call it karma, they call it Vororbla.
Will she cope with the heartbreak and truths revealed before her? What would you do if your very existence came into question?

*

I feel kind of weird reviewing A Carpet of Purple Flowers considering I didn’t finish it, but I was sent it for review so I feel like I should say something about it. This book was so boring. I made it to over half way through and nothing had happened. I just ended up losing all motivation to pick it up. It also seemed to have a lot of problems that could have been fixed by a good editor, such as spelling and punctuation errors. There were also times when it was impossible to tell whose point of view I was reading from. Another problem I had with it was that two of the characters went from hardly knowing anything about each other to being deeply in love in the space of about a page.

Leave a Reply

