Review: Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler

Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler
Genre: Contemporary
Published by: Electric Monkey
Pages: 354
Format: Paperback
Rating: ★★☆☆☆
Where to Find: Goodreads | Book Depository
Summary: Min Green and Ed Slaterton are breaking up, so Min is writing Ed a letter and giving him a box. Inside the box is why they broke up. Two bottle caps, a movie ticket, a folded note, a box of matches, a protractor, books, a toy truck, a pair of ugly earrings, a comb from a motel room, and every other item collected over the course of a giddy, intimate, heartbreaking relationship. Item after item is illustrated and accounted for, and then the box, like a girlfriend, will be dumped.


I really liked the idea behind this book. I thought it sounded really interesting and different to anything I had ever read before. However, I did not end up liking it very much.

There were two reasons I didn’t like this book. The first reason was the writing. Daniel Handler used a lot of long sentences and paragraphs, which I am not really a fan of. Also, I sometimes found the way he worded things a bit confusing, e.g. “you did, I’ll give you that Ed, not laugh,” instead of saying it more straightforwardly, e.g. “you didn’t laugh, I’ll give you that.” He used this kind of wording quite a lot and I just really didn’t like it.

The other reason I didn’t like this book was because of Ed Slaterton. I hated him. He was homophobic and thoughtless and inconsiderate. There were so many moments where Ed would do something or use something that belonged to someone else without any consideration to the feelings of other people. He also never seemed to consider things from other peoples point of view.

Leave a Reply

