Review: The Sons of Scarlatti by John McNally

AMOEE

Summary:

Infinity Drake – aka Finn (at least his mum stopped him being christened e=mc2) – is looking forward to a week away with his mad scientist uncle when they are summoned to a crisis meeting. A lethal bio-weapon has been released by a pitiless villain, with incalculable consequences for mankind…UNLESS Al can shrink a military team to hunt down the beast. No one reckons on Finn getting dragged along – but then disaster strikes. Shrunk to 9mm tall, Finn has to jump in a tiny apache helicopter with two soldiers and a crack female pilot in a race to avert disaster and destroy the Scarlatti – the uber-wasp killing machine that’s out there, very angry, and many times their size…(And if you think that’s trouble, just wait till Grandma finds out.)


I wasn’t really sure what to expect when I went into this book. I thought the blurb sounded a bit weird, but at the same time it slightly intrigued me. It also had a review from Derek Landy on the cover, who I love (he wrote the Skulduggery Pleasant series) so that got me a bit excited to read it.

I found the first 100 pages of this book to be a bit slow, due in part, I think, to the fact that quite often during the first 100 pages it would go into the maths or science behind something, such as the exact amount of force required to get a plane to lift off, which to be honest I didn’t really care about. For me it just slowed the book down. Although I did like the explanation of how they were going to shrink the military team. It was put in a way that was really easy to understand, even if, like me, you don’t really get science.

The rest of the book was largely free from all the maths and science, which I appreciated. There was more action, and I was able to get through it faster than the first 100 pages. It wasn’t as funny as I thought it would be though.

I really enjoyed the story. The end of the book has made me want to read the next book, which I wasn’t originally planning to do.

I was worried that Finn would annoy me a bit because he is 12, and younger characters tend to annoy me, but that wasn’t the case this time, which I am happy about.

My rating: ★★★★☆

Leave a Reply

