Review: Starstruck by Cyn Balog

41-meACIAOL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Summary:

Life isn’t easy for Gwendolyn “Dough” Reilly – her family is struggling with its small New Jersey bakery in a town full of millionaires, and people at her school don’t seem to know she exists. When her long-distance boyfriend, Wish, moves back home after three years away, she’s nervous – she’s gained a lot of weight since they last saw each other, while Wish has apparently morphed into a blond god. Convinced that Wish will dump her the minute he lays eyes on her, Dough puts off their reunion as long as she possibly can.

But something amazing happens when they finally meet: Wish looks at Dough as if she’s just as gorgeous as he is. He’s acting a little weird, though; he’s obsessed with the sun and freaked outby the rain. The creepy new guy working with Dough at the bakery tells her that Wish’s tiny star tattoo marks him as a member of the Luminati, an ancient cult of astrologers who can manipulate the stars to improve their lives. Dough isn’t sure what to believe.

Are Dough and Wish meant to be together – or are they star-crossed?


I literally bought this book because I had enough points on my Waterstones card to get a book free and I wanted to buy something I had never heard of before so I picked this one up and read the summary and thought it sounded weird so I had to buy it.

First of all, the summary says “Dough puts off their reunion as long as she possibly can” so I was expecting her to cancel loads of plans and keep making excuses and not see him for at least a week, and in reality the only way she put it off was not meeting him at the airport and then she saw him the next day atschool. So that annoyed me a bit.

I really don’t like it when people try and change who they are to fit in with a certain crowd, for two reasons: 1) it will almost always backfire on you, and 2) the you they like and accept isn’t the real you, and that’s what Dough did, although I didn’t mind too much in this case in the end. Her initial attempts to fit in were actually really funny, and she ended up giving up the attempt before it got too far so it was alright.

I didn’t really like Wish. I don’t really know why, I just found him annoying. However, I did like “The creepy new guy working with Dough at the bakery.” He was funny and weird.

I really liked the big event that happened at the end. I thought it was different and fun.

My rating: ★★★★☆

Leave a Reply

