Author Events: Kazuo Ishiguro and Graeme Simsion

pics (and books) 011

Hello everyone ๐Ÿ™‚ Last week I attended two author events/signings, which is awesome considering authors rarely come to my area.

The first event was on Tuesday evening, and it was Kazuo Ishiguro with his new book the Buried Giant. I paid for the book with my ticket and picked it up on the night, and the dust jacket had a small rip at the top. I was not happy about that. But the event itself was great. Kazuo Ishiguro read out the first few pages of the book. It sounds really good so far and I really can’t wait to read it. He also talked a bit about his inspiration for the Buried Giant, the idea of doing something so bad that you want to just be able to forget it. Or something like that. I don’t have the best memory. When he was finished talking, he signed books, so I now have a signed first edition of the Buried Giant ๐Ÿ™‚

The second event was Graeme Simsion on Sunday afternoon and it was a lot more casual. You didn’t have to buy a ticket and there was tea and cake ๐Ÿ™‚ I got there slightly early and Graeme Simsion was already there and willing to sign, so I managed to avoid any large crowds that may have occured, which was great. He signed my books and we had a chat about how we were both born in New Zealand but lived in Australia.

pics (and books) 012

So I now have three more signed books to add to my collection. Hopefully I’ll be adding a lot more in July at YALC. Feel free to leave any comments down below ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

