February Wrap Up :)

wpid-imag1712_1.jpg

Hey guys! So this month I read 9 books, which I am really pleased about 🙂 I think I actually read most of them in the first week and a half of February, which is shocking. But since then I’ve been feeling kinda slumpy and I had to focus on finishing my coursework so it took me about a week and a half to finish the last book I read this month. It was a long book though, and I’m ahead on my goodreads challenge, so I don’t mind too much. So anyway, without further ado, here is what I read in February:

  • Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. I really enjoyed this book. It had so many nerdy references, which made me very happy. I sticky tabbed any reference to shows/movies/bands that I’m into, that’s how excited the references made me. I also really like the detailed description of how the virtual world this book is set in worked. I didn’t think I would enjoy that aspect of the book as much as I did because I’m not a gamer, but it actually really interested me. I gave it 5/5 stars.
  • Underworld by Cathy MacPhial. I thought the plot of this books was quite interesting, but I didn’t like any of the characters. I thought most of them were actually quite cruel, and the rest were just annoying. I gave it 2/5 stars.
  • Contest by Matthew Reilly. I loved this book. Matthew Reilly is one of my favourite authors and I don’t know why it took me so long to get around to this book, but I’m really glad I read it. It was actually similar to the Hunger Games, except with added aliens, so if you liked the Hunger Games, then definitely check out Contest. I gave it 5/5 stars.
  • Never Run Away by Julie C Round. I was not a fan of this book. I have a review for it here if you want to know why. I gave it 2/5 stars.
  • Doctor Who: Lights Out by Holly Black. I enjoyed the story and I really liked the mix of known alien species from the TV show and new aliens that we hadn’t seen before. I gave it 4/5 stars.
  • Sisters by Raina Telgemeier. I’ve been really getting in to graphic novels lately, and I saw this cheap in Asda. I’m really glad I picked it up because I really enjoyed it. I gave it 4/5 stars.
  • Hatter M, Vol. 1: The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor. I really liked this graphic novel. It is a really interesting twist on Alice in Wonderland, told from the Hatter’s perspective. I can’t wait to read more. I did find the artwork a bit hard to make out at times, which left me confused as to what was happening, but I always managed to work it out with the context of the next few panels. I gave it 4/5 stars.
  • Seven Ancient Wonders by Matthew Reilly. Another Matthew Reilly book that took me ages to get around to, but once again I’m so glad I did. I loved it. It was very different to Contest, but it was more like the stuff he usually writes, so I was happy 🙂 I gave it 4/5 stars.
  • Stig of the Dump by Clive King. I’ve had this book for over 5 years now, so I thought it was about time I read it. I enjoyed it, but I feel like I would have liked it a lot more if I had read it when I was younger. My mum was really happy that I read it though 🙂 I gave it 3/5 stars.

So yes, those are the books I read. I hope that my slump won’t last too much longer so I don’t fall behind on my goodreads challenge next month, and also just because I hate it when I don’t feel like reading.

Leave a Reply

