Review: Captured Love by Juliana Heygert

22664642

*I won this book on Goodreads First reads*

It’s been four years since twenty-year-old Jessica Hayes has been home, but when she discovers her father is dying, she must return to her hometown in South Carolina and face her past. Jessica thought patching up her relationship with her father would be her biggest challenge, but when she runs into Ryan Dawson—the catalyst of all her problems—she wonders if coming home was a mistake.

Ryan knows he screwed up. Hell, he paid the price…with interest. But when he runs into his best friend’s little sister, Jessica, he’s reminded that his debt will never truly be paid. He may have turned his life around, but he can’t undo the damage. So, he does what he should have done all those years ago. He stays away from Jessica, and all the other personal demons that still haunt him.

Jessica thought she wanted nothing to with Ryan, but something is different about him and she needs to know why. When she discovers the truth behind his change, she puts her troubles aside and tries to help him. But is putting her heart back in the line of fire worth disrupting her stable life back in Ohio, or will the past repeat itself, leaving her brokenhearted once again?


So this is a New Adult book, the first one I have ever read. At the beginning of this book I was enjoying it, but that was about it. I was happy to read it but I wouldn’t have minded if I had been told I wasn’t allowed to finish it. Then, at about chapter 10 I suddenly became really invested in the story and the characters. Jessica, one of the main characters, annoyed me at times. She occasionally seemed a bit over dramatic to me. Otherwise I didn’t really have anything wrong with her or any of the other characters.

I enjoyed the story. It was cute, although it was a little bit cheesy at times. The actual writing annoyed me sometimes, information would sometimes be revealed in odd ways, like the author didn’t know how else to do it, so it felt a bit unrealistic. She would also repeat things that didn’t need repeating, which annoyed me because I hate that in books. But overall the annoyances weren’t enough to make me stop reading. I didn’t have any other problems with the book or the writing.

This book can now be added to the other books I own that have absolutely freaking ADORABLE endings! I loved the ending of Captured Love. I would probably have started cheering if my dad wasn’t asleep in the next room when I finished it. I will definitely check out some of her other books one day. When I have the time… And money… Yeah.

As this is the only New Adult book I’ve read, I don’t really have anything similar to it to say “if you liked such and such, you’ll like Captured Love!” but I would recommend it to people who like contemporary romances.

My rating: ★★★★☆

One thought on “Review: Captured Love by Juliana Heygert

Leave a Reply

