Review: Unspeakable by Abbie Rushton

22103725

*I received an ARC of this book from NetGalley*

Summary:

Megan doesn’t speak. She hasn’t spoken in months.

Pushing away the people she cares about is just a small price to pay. Because there are things locked inside Megan’s head – things that are screaming to be heard – that she cannot, must not, let out.

Then Jasmine starts at school: bubbly, beautiful, talkative Jasmine. And for reasons Megan can’t quite understand, life starts to look a bit brighter.

Megan would love to speak again, and it seems like Jasmine might be the answer. But if she finds her voice, will she lose everything else?


I loved this book. Its not the same as most of the other contemporary I’ve read, all cute and fluffy and the worst thing that happens is that someone doesn’t like you back. This book deals with some more serious issues and I think it did it well. I also enjoyed that it was different. It made for a nice change.

I enjoyed the way the book hinted at why Megan doesn’t speak without giving it away right at the start. The information was presented over time, allowing the reader to make their own guesses as to what happened throughout the book.

I cant think of anything bad to say about this book. I really enjoyed it.

I would recommend this book to people who like YA contemporaries and who want to read a book with a LGBT relationship.

My rating: ★★★★☆

Leave a Reply

