Review: A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall

988323_1364311628706_201_243

Summary:

The creative writing teacher, the delivery guy, the local Starbucks baristas, his best friend, her roommate, and the squirrel in the park all have one thing in common—they believe that Gabe and Lea should get together. Lea and Gabe are in the same creative writing class. They get the same pop culture references, order the same Chinese food, and hang out in the same places. Unfortunately, Lea is reserved, Gabe has issues, and despite their initial mutual crush, it looks like they are never going to work things out.  But somehow even when nothing is going on, something is happening between them, and everyone can see it. Their creative writing teacher pushes them together. The baristas at Starbucks watch their relationship like a TV show. Their bus driver tells his wife about them. The waitress at the diner automatically seats them together. Even the squirrel who lives on the college green believes in their relationship.

Surely Gabe and Lea will figure out that they are meant to be together…


So I wasn’t originally going to read this book. I am slightly ashamed to admit that I do kinda often judge a book by its cover, and by its title, and I really need to stop because I have nearly missed out on some really good books because of this. When I first saw this book I was pretty much immediately put off by the cover and the title. they made me think that it was going to be something completely different to what it actually was in the end. I don’t know what I thought it would be, but I certainly didn’t think it would be a contemporary romance. The reason why I bought this book in the end was because I saw a review of it that said it was good, and I’m really glad I did give it a chance in the end because I really enjoyed this book. It was really cute and I really love cute romance novels. I did find it a bit weird at first, with all the different points of view from people around Gabe and Lea, and that made it a bit hard to get into and it felt a bit slow, but once I got used to it, I really got into it and it went a lot quicker and I’m really glad I read it. AND OMG THE ENDING WAS SO ADORABLE I NEARLY DIED!

So this book is told from 14 different peoples points of view, but never from Lea or Gabe’s point of view. I thought this was an interesting way to do it, and I definitely liked the idea more the further into the book I got.

Out of all the different points of view, Victor was my least favourite. Victor is a classmate of both Gabe and Lea, and like all the other people whose points of view are used in this book, he wants Gabe and Lea to get together. What really bugged me was his reason for wanting to get together. It just seemed rather weak to me. Like, he was annoyed with the sort of cute way they acted around each other, which didn’t seem like something that would change if they got together, so to me his reasoning seemed a bit off.

Most of the other points of view I was cool with, although I found the bench and the squirrel a little bit weird. They were both interesting as they provided a different take on things, but one or two of the benches points of view seemed to me that they were just chucked in because we hadn’t heard anything from the bench for a while, and sometimes didn’t even have any information about Gabe and Lea at all, which made me feel that it was a bit unnecessary.

My favourite points of view were Casey, Gabe’s best friend, and Maribel, Lea’s roommate, as most of the information about how Gabe and Lea were progressing with their relationship came from them, considering they had the most contact with the pair.

If you love young adult, romance or contemporaries, or all three, then I would definitely recommend that you read this book. I would also recommend it if you are looking for something that is a bit different.

My rating: ★★★★☆

2 thoughts on “Review: A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall

  1. I had never heard of this book before your book review, especially since it is not the kind of book I would usually pick up (since I am more of a fantasy/ science fiction girl myself), but your points about this book make me interested enough to add it to my TBR pile, hopefully it ends up being an indeed enjoyable read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

