Alex’s top 10 favourite books

Hiya guys 🙂 I thought that since it will probs be a while until I post my first review (college gets in the way a bit) I would fill the time by telling you my fave books! Yay!

No. 10: The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

I don’t know why I enjoyed this book so much. I guess I just really liked the writing style. I also enjoy reading the occasional book that isn’t all happy. Sometimes I just need to read a sad book.

No. 9: Ice Station by Matthew Reilly

This book is the only adult book on the list, and it is amazing. It is fast paced action from cover to cover. After I finished it I couldn’t settle on another book for a while because they all seemed slow and boring by comparison. Something exciting is always happening, there a quite a lot of deaths, all in rather horrible ways. Its just so great.

No. 8: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

This book, and the whole series always grips me every time I start reading it. Its one of those books that you just don’t want to put down. Ever.

No. 7: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

This book was so romantic and cute. This book made me genuinely happy while I was reading it. It was also one of those books that made me think at times that I was the main character, which is always quite amusing.

No. 6: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by JK Rowling

I actually don’t know why this Harry Potter book is on the list and not one of the others, its just always been my favourite. Its funny though because its always been my least favourite movie. But, for whatever reason, its always been the book I look forward to the most out of the series.

No. 5: The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

Pretty much my childhood. I love this book quite a lot. I always enjoy reading it, even though I must have read it more than 10 times by now. It just never gets boring for me. I also love the idea of having a private garden that no one else knows about. If I had one I would spend as much of my time in it reading as I could.

No. 4: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

I stumbled upon this book in a bookclub magazine at school the year it came out and I have been in love with the Shadowhunters and with Cassandra Clare ever since. (I actually recently met Cassie and got my copy of COB signed. Wow that was a great day).

No. 3: Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

Wow… just… wow… This was such an emotional book for me, especially at the end. Almost everything that happened in this book made me cry, and it can still make me cry now, even though I’ve read it several times.

No. 2: The Little White Horse by Elizabeth Goudge

This book is magical. It took my years to finally bring myself to read it. I kept getting stuck on the first few chapters. But after I finally read it I was really glad I gave it a chance. Its a lovely story and its beautifully written.

No. 1: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

This is the only book I’ve read (so far) in my life in which I felt I could relate to the main character. Just like Cather, I feel awkward around people I don’t know very well (around people in general really), I’m much happier reading fanfiction (I tried writing fanfics once, it didn’t work out) and generally being active with a fandom over the internet. (I would also like to be internet famous like Cath is but I doubt that will happen). It was really nice to be able to relate to a character that much for once. Also, I really enjoy reading books in which the main character goes to college in America… Dunno why… (I also met Rainbow and that was really awesome too).

2 thoughts on “Alex’s top 10 favourite books

Leave a Reply

